高清流管理 – 最大限度地提高可扩展性和带宽管理 - 第 1 部分

需求

如果您的视频监控系统需要增加摄像机数量和图像分辨率,您的视频管理系统能否满足要求?

下载 PDF 格式
High Definition Stream Management –  Maximum Scalability and Bandwidth Management - Part 1


这样的情况总是反复出现:在访问实况视频或录制视频时,会出现沙漏旋转图标,表示正在等待系统响应。因为系统难以提供所需的分辨率和帧速,所以视频观看速度慢、不连贯而且模糊。之所以出现这些情况,都是因为视频管理系统 (VMS) 无法应对日益增长的高清监控体系结构的需求。

尽管 H.264 之类的改进型压缩技术已经比前代标准更节省带宽,但是您 VMS 的总体性能并非仅由压缩来确定。 在增加您系统内高分辨率摄像机的数量时,网络和其他计算资源的压力必然会增加。

为了解决系统扩展和带宽管理的难题,Avigilon 开发了 High Definition Stream Management (HDSM)™。 HDSM™ 是一项专有流管理技术,大大降低了服务器-客户端带宽需求,并优化了客户端计算资源的使用,带来更出色的扩展性和更高的摄像机分辨率。


工作原理

尽管其他 VMS 系统依赖于使用视频压缩、组播和多流进行带宽管理,但 Avigilon Control Center 软件采用专门构建的带宽管理技术 HDSM,较之传统技术,这种技术将总体网络负载降低了一个数量级。

HDSMTM 技术将视频信息作为小型数据包存储在服务器上。 同时,HDSM 将视频分为多个可用段:环境感知的分辨率较低,流大小较小,而全影像细节所使用的流大小要大很多。然后,HDSM 便可以根据用户所查看的类型智能管理这些流。

例如,如果 Avigilon Control Center 软件中显示多个带有完整视场的摄像机,那么服务器会向客户端发送较低的分辨率流。当用户锁定一个摄像机并以数字方式放大以查看细节时,将提供高分辨率流。但是,只会发送感兴趣区域内的部分。这大大降低了服务器和客户端之间交换的信息量,不论分辨率如何,只需提供用户此刻需要的信息。



hdsm2 2

高清流管理 2.0

到目前为止,HDSM 技术对于 JPEG2000 压缩标准是最有效的。 这主要是因为 JPEG2000 压缩标准对高清成像的动态适应性。尽管 JPEG2000 提供了代码灵活性和高影像性能,但较之于 H.264,它却产生了更高的平均比特率流并且降低了总体压缩,因此在视频安全监控行业中不是广泛采用的标准。

因此,HDSM 2.0 技术经过开发,可与 H.264 压缩标准一起使用,同时为用户提供高清成像性能,进一步降低 H.264 比特率,并提高 HDSM 的智能和灵活性。 较之于仅使用 H.264 压缩的系统,这种技术搭配具有独一无二且卓越的网络性能。以下部分概括了这种技术搭配的工作原理:


hdsm2 3 v2
hdsm2 3

在图 1A 中,一张 16 MP 像素上的白色线条网格展示了 HDSM 技术。 该图像分为 12 个不同的区域。当用户放大某个区域查看更多细节时,只有此部分(在该图中是总分辨率中的十二分之一)会从服务器发送到客户端。这不仅大大降低了服务器和客户端之间的带宽,还降低了必需的解码资源,使得系统性能、反应能力和整理用户体验都得到了提高。

HDSM 技术还使用逐渐降低的分辨率。 例如,如果要在 1080p (2MP) 监视器上显示 16 MP 摄像机的完整视场,您会得到中等分辨率,因为您只需要 2MP 数据。从多个摄像机显示内查看某个摄像机(例如,3 x 3 网格内 9 个摄像机中的一个)时,会使用最低的分辨率。最后,HDSM 技术只会在您需要时提供所需的分辨率和细节。


结论

对于系统集成商和计划扩展视频监控系统的最终用户而言,采用 HDSM 技术的 Avigilon Control Center 软件是一种既能提高性能又能带来灵活性的解决方案。 在 HDSM 2.0 技术中,Avigilon 将 H.264 压缩与智能带宽管理技术结合起来,打造了一种可在摄像机数量和分辨率方面对系统进行广泛扩展的高效解决方案。

阅读第 2 部分 - 技术详情



词汇表

ACC 版本 经过摄像机测试的最新版 ACC。通常也支持更新版本的 ACC(除非具体列出)。
音频输入 接收来自摄像机的音频源。
音频输出 将音频发送到与摄像机相连的扬声器。
自动发现 在 LAN 环境中连接时,会自动发现摄像机 IP 地址。
压缩类型 描述摄像机支持的编码类型。
连接类型 描述所使用的设备驱动程序的类型。原生是指制造商指定的设备驱动程序。
去弯曲 在客户端内去除鱼眼或全景摄像机的图像弯曲现象。
数字输入 接收来自摄像头的数字或中继输入。
数字输出 触发物理连接到摄像机的数字或继电器输出。
运动 快速显示摄像机上的运动录制是否可用。
运动配置 在 ACC 客户端内配置运动检测。
运动录制 支持基于运动的录制。
PTZ 快速显示摄像机上的 PTZ 功能是否可用。
PTZ 控制 基本 PTZ 移动。
PTZ 模式/巡视 创建并触发 PTZ 模式或 PTZ 巡视的能力,具体取决于摄像机是否支持。
PTZ 预设 创建并触发 PTZ 预设位置。
单位类型 摄像机的类型。
验证方 测试摄像机并给出评测报告的组织。
已认证的固件 Specific firmware version tested.
制造商 Blah
型号 DS-2DE2103
连接类型 ONVIF
单位类型 IP PTZ 摄像机
Compression Types H.264

  • ACC 版本
  • 型号 DS-2DE2103
  • 连接类型 ONVIF
  • 制造商 Blah
  • 制造商 Blah
  • 制造商 Blah
  • 制造商 Blah
  • 制造商 Blah
  • 制造商 Blah
  • 制造商 Blah
  • 制造商 Blah
  • 制造商 Blah

验证人员:

Vendor
下载测试报告

High Definition Stream Management – Maximum Scalability and Bandwidth Management - Part 1

Challenges

As your video surveillance system expands in camera count and image resolution can your video management system keep up?

Download PDF
High Definition Stream Management –  Maximum Scalability and Bandwidth Management - Part 1


The scenario repeats itself all too often: the hourglass or spinning icon when accessing live or recorded video, waiting for the system to catch up. Slow, choppy and blurry video as it struggles to deliver required resolution and frame rate. These are the familiar symptoms of a video management system (VMS) unable to handle the demands of a growing high definition surveillance architecture.

While improved compression technologies like H.264 have provided bandwidth savings over predecessor standards, the overall performance of your VMS is not determined by compression alone. As you expand the count of high resolution cameras within your system, the strain on network and other computing resources undoubtedly increases.

To address the challenge of system scalability and bandwidth management, Avigilon has developed High Definition Stream Management (HDSM)™ technology. HDSM™ is a proprietary stream management technology that drastically reduces server-client bandwidth requirements and makes optimal use of client computing resources, enabling greater scalability and increased camera resolution.


How it works

While other VMS systems are dependent on leveraging video compression, multicasting and multi-streaming for bandwidth management, Avigilon Control Center software employs HDSM, a purpose-built bandwidth management technology, which reduces overall network load by an order of magnitude more than traditional technologies.

HDSM technology stores the video information on the server as small packets. Simultaneously, HDSM separates the video into multiple useable segments: lower resolution and smaller size streams for situational awareness, and much larger streams for full image detail. HDSM then intelligently manages these streams based on what the user is viewing.

For example, if multiple cameras are being displayed in Avigilon Control Center software with full field of view, the lower resolution stream is sent from the server to the client. When the user engages a camera and digitally zooms in for greater detail, the higher resolution stream is provided. However, only the portion from that region of interest is sent. This dramatically reduces the amount of information exchanged between the server and client, by only providing the information that the user needs at that time, regardless of resolution.



hdsm2 2

High Definition Stream Management 2.0

Until now, HDSM technology was most effective with the JPEG2000 compression standard. This was primarily due to the dynamic adaptability of the JPEG2000 compression standard with high-resolution imaging. While JPEG2000 provides coding flexibility and high imaging performance, it also produces higher average bitrate streams and less overall compression than H.264, and is not a widely used standard within the video security surveillance industry.

As a result, HDSM 2.0 technology was developed to operate with the H.264 compression standard, simultaneously providing users with high-resolution imaging performance, further bitrate reduction of H.264 and the intelligence and flexibility of HDSM. This technology pairing provides a unique and superior network performance over systems solely utilizing H.264 compression. The next section outlines how this works:


hdsm2 3 v2
hdsm2 3

In figure 1A HDSM technology is illustrated with the white line grid over a 16 MP image. The image is divided into 12 distinct areas. When a user zooms in an area for more detail, only that portion, in this illustration 1/12th of the total resolution, is sent from the server to the client. Not only does this drastically reduce the bandwidth between server and client, it reduces the required decoding resources, which enables improved system performance, responsiveness and overall user experience.

HDSM technology also uses progressively lower resolutions. For example, if you were to display the full field of view of a 16 MP camera on your 1080p (2MP) monitor, you would receive an intermediate resolution since you only need 2 MP of data. And when a camera is being viewed within a multiple camera display (e.g. one of 9 cameras in a 3 x 3 grid), the lowest resolution is used. In the end, HDSM technology provides only the resolution and detail you need when you need it.


Conclusion

For system integrators and end users planning for their video surveillance system expansion, Avigilon Control Center software with HDSM technology is a solution that will provide them both increased performance and flexibility. With HDSM 2.0 technology, Avigilon has paired H.264 compression with intelligent bandwidth management technology to create an effective solution in enabling broad system scalability in both camera count and resolution.

Read Part 2 - The Technical Details



Glossary

ACC Version Last version of ACC tested with camera. This also implies support for later versions of ACC unless specifically listed otherwise.
Audio Input Receive audio feed from camera.
Audio Output Send audio to speaker attached to camera.
Autodiscovery Automatic discovery of camera IP address when connected within a LAN environment.
Compression Type Describes the encoding types supported for the camera.
Connection Type Describes the type of Device Driver used. Native refers to the Manufacturer's specific device driver.
Dewarping In-Client dewarping of fisheye or panoramic cameras.
Digital Input Receive Digital or Relay inputs from camera.
Digital output Trigger digital or relay outputs physically connected to a camera.
Motion Quick display of whether Motion Recording is available on for the camera.
Motion Configuration Configuration of motion detection within the ACC Client.
Motion Recording Support for motion-based recording.
PTZ Quick display of whether PTZ functionality is available for camera.
PTZ Control Basic PTZ Movement.
PTZ Patterns/Tours Ability to create and trigger either PTZ Patterns, or PTZ Tours, depending on camera support.
PTZ Presets Create and trigger PTZ Preset positions.
Unit Type Type of camera.
Verified By Organization which tested camera and reported capabilities.
Verified Firmware Specific firmware version tested.
Manufacturer Blah
Model DS-2DE2103
Connection Type ONVIF
Unit Type IP PTZ camera
Compression Types H.264

  • ACC Version
  • Model DS-2DE2103
  • Connection Type ONVIF
  • Manufacturer Blah
  • Manufacturer Blah
  • Manufacturer Blah
  • Manufacturer Blah
  • Manufacturer Blah
  • Manufacturer Blah
  • Manufacturer Blah
  • Manufacturer Blah
  • Manufacturer Blah

Verified by:

Vendor
Download Test Report