高清流管理 – 第 2 部分 - 技术详情

需求

在“第 2 部分:技术详情”,我们将介绍这项革命性技术的基础知识和主要概念,并详细说明其高效管理高清视频录像并保持超一流图像细节的方式。

下载 PDF 格式
High Definition Stream Management –  Part 2 - The Technical Details


技术详情

白皮书的第 1 部分“High Definition Stream Management (HDSM)™ – 最大限度地提高可扩展性和带宽管理”介绍了通过增加摄像头数量来保持高质量图像分辨率所面临的各种挑战,以及 Avigilon HDSM™技术(专门构建的带宽管理技术)的详细信息。在“第 2 部分:技术详情”,我们将介绍这项革命性技术的基础知识和主要概念,并详细说明其高效管理高清视频录像并保持超一流图像细节的方式。


HDSM 根基:JPEG2000

初创时,HDSM 属于一项突破性技术,设计为应用到 JPEG2000 压缩平台时最为有效。这主要源于 JPEG2000 与高清影像组合时的动态适应性。原因如下:JPEG2000 属于逐帧或帧内压缩技术,其会对摄像头捕捉的每个帧应用压缩算法。由此得到的视频包含一系列单独压缩的帧,各帧均不需要其他帧的信息。因此,可单独访问每个帧,使得能够快速访问录制的视频。JPEG2000 标准提供的一项独有功能是“拼接”。利用 JPEG2000 拼接功能,可将图像分割成不同大小的矩形区域,单独进行转换和编码。以这种方式分割图像比较有利,因为仅需对必要的图块解码,所需的处理能力较少。

HDSM™ 技术利用 JPEG2000 标准的粒度,所以可在图像特定部分和分层内存储、访问和传输各种分辨率的视频。


whitepaper hdsm2 2 h2

过渡到 H.264

随着 H.264 压缩标准日益广泛运用于视频监控系统组件中,Avigilon 开发了将与 H.264 压缩兼容的下一代 HDSM 技术版本,即 HDSM 2.0。 HDSM™ 2.0 技术蕴含的功能与其原始版本类似,但结合了 H.264 压缩视频带宽较低的优势,能够将图像分割成图块。

虽然 H.264 压缩是一种通用标准,其生成的平均比特率流远远低于 JPEG2000,但该标准对以同等的粒度水平实施 HDSM 技术提出了技术挑战。


whitepaper hdsm2 3 scene

作为一种时间压缩标准,H.264 固有地试图仅定期存储帧与整帧之间的增量变化。结果视频流基于多帧压缩,而不是像 JPEG2000 一样基于一系列单独的帧。

HDSM 2.0 技术像 JPEG2000 一样创建了与 H.264 压缩图像类似的拼接功能,这是 Avigilon 的一项技术突破。便于图像存储、访问和传输的拼接灵活性与 H.264 降码率功能相结合,使其相对于仅利用 H.264 压缩的系统而言可提供独特且卓越的网络性能。 在扩展到更高分辨率的摄像机(例如 5 MP+)和更多摄像机总数时,这一个增强的性能特别明显而有利。


whitepaper hdsm2 4 monitor

HDSM 技术与转码

转码并非 HDSM™ 技术的一种元素,但在视频监控行业及其他领域仍属非常普遍的转换方式。转码通常应用于格式不受目标设备支持或存储容量有限的情况。此外,转码也可用来将不兼容或过时数据转换成具有更好支持的最新格式。例如,在视频监控行业中,视频管理服务器与 HTML 和/或移动设备客户端之间的会话通常会使用转码。有人会争论说,视频监控技术运用最广的实际上是码流转换,那是一种与转码类似的流程,可将文件编码为较低比特率,而视频格式不变。这使得能够以较小的存储空间通过较低的带宽连接能力为给定媒体提供支持。

但是,使用转码技术存在一定局限

  1. 转码属于处理器密集型服务。 当用户试图远程或在其移动设备上查看经过转码或码流转换的视频时,影响比较明显。 为显示完整的分辨率,需要缓冲或暂停,由此产生等待时间,导致用户体验不佳。 HDSM 技术可避免该问题。 
  2. 根据资源可用性,与其他软件服务共享中央处理单元 (CPU) 资源会不可避免地导致性能限制。 由于 HDSM 技术是 Avigilon 控制中心软件的核心技术,因此使用 ACC 软件不会独占资源。
  3. 使用专用转码硬件可极大地提高性能,但难以扩展到中大型摄像机部署,且成本高昂。 例如,每个转码硬件设备每次仅可支持 1 到 4 个流及一个会话请求。HDSM 技术无需专用硬件即可工作,从而能够以经济高效的方式轻松扩展到数量更多、分辨率更高的摄像机的部署。  

最后,因转码计算量太大,会限制视频管理系统的扩展和性能。


whitepaper hdsm2 5 arrow

HDSM™ 技术如何使您其余的系统受益

HDSM™ 技术可有效提高整个网络上的视频流管理效率,而又不会增加网络基础设施。

例如,HDSM 2.0 不需要网络硬件提供的任何额外处理能力。事实上,利用 HDSM 2.0 的 H.264 摄像机视频流所需的处理能力相比先前版本有所降低。方法如下:

  1. 多个 CPU 内核中并行执行客户端解码,从而降低时钟速率,使 ACC 软件客户端可以更加高效地使用多核机器。  
  2. 大多数情况下,客户端从不需要以完整分辨率对整个视野进行解码。 

此外,标准商用现货和运行比 ACC 5.2 更早版本 ACC 软件的现有 Avigilon 硬件可通过软件升级利用 HDSM 2.0 功能。


whitepaper hdsm2 6 scene

视频延迟

HDSM 2.0 技术不会以任何形式独占资源而导致视频延迟增加或造成图像质量下降,因此给用户带来灵活性,让他们可在不影响视频质量的前提下,安全地提高摄像机分辨率及总数。


结论

对于系统集成商和计划扩展视频监控系统的最终用户而言,采用 HDSM™ 技术的 Avigilon Control Center 软件是一种既能提高性能又能带来灵活性的解决方案。 在 HDSM 2.0 中,Avigilon 将 H.264 压缩与智能带宽管理技术结合起来,打造了一种可在摄像机数量和分辨率方面对系统进行广泛扩展的高效解决方案。这一切均无需添加硬件来提高处理能力,且不会增加视频延迟或降低图像质量。因此,用户可以当前的硬件投入安全地利用 HDSM 2.0 技术来降低带宽消耗,同时保持最大图像细节。

阅读第 1 部分 - 高清流管理



词汇表

ACC 版本 经过摄像机测试的最新版 ACC。通常也支持更新版本的 ACC(除非具体列出)。
音频输入 接收来自摄像机的音频源。
音频输出 将音频发送到与摄像机相连的扬声器。
自动发现 在 LAN 环境中连接时,会自动发现摄像机 IP 地址。
压缩类型 描述摄像机支持的编码类型。
连接类型 描述所使用的设备驱动程序的类型。原生是指制造商指定的设备驱动程序。
去弯曲 在客户端内去除鱼眼或全景摄像机的图像弯曲现象。
数字输入 接收来自摄像头的数字或中继输入。
数字输出 触发物理连接到摄像机的数字或继电器输出。
运动 快速显示摄像机上的运动录制是否可用。
运动配置 在 ACC 客户端内配置运动检测。
运动录制 支持基于运动的录制。
PTZ 快速显示摄像机上的 PTZ 功能是否可用。
PTZ 控制 基本 PTZ 移动。
PTZ 模式/巡视 创建并触发 PTZ 模式或 PTZ 巡视的能力,具体取决于摄像机是否支持。
PTZ 预设 创建并触发 PTZ 预设位置。
单位类型 摄像机的类型。
验证方 测试摄像机并给出评测报告的组织。
已认证的固件 Specific firmware version tested.
制造商 Blah
型号 DS-2DE2103
连接类型 ONVIF
单位类型 IP PTZ 摄像机
Compression Types H.264

  • ACC 版本
  • 型号 DS-2DE2103
  • 连接类型 ONVIF
  • 制造商 Blah
  • 制造商 Blah
  • 制造商 Blah
  • 制造商 Blah
  • 制造商 Blah
  • 制造商 Blah
  • 制造商 Blah
  • 制造商 Blah
  • 制造商 Blah

验证人员:

Vendor
下载测试报告

High Definition Stream Management – Part 2 - The Technical Details

Challenges

In “Part 2: The Technical Details”, we examine the foundation and key concepts of this revolutionary technology and detail the ways it efficiently manages high-definition video footage while maintaining superior image detail.

Download PDF
High Definition Stream Management –  Part 2 - The Technical Details


The Technical Details

Part 1 of the whitepaper “High Definition Stream Management (HDSM)™ – Maximum Scalability and Bandwidth Management,” covered the challenges of maintaining high-quality image resolution with expanding camera counts and the details of Avigilon’s HDSM™ technology, a purpose-built bandwidth management technology. In “Part 2: The Technical Details”, we examine the foundation and key concepts of this revolutionary technology and detail the ways it efficiently manages high-definition video footage while maintaining superior image detail.


Roots of HDSM: JPEG2000

When it originated, HDSM was a groundbreaking technology, developed to be most effective when applied to the JPEG2000 compression platform. This was primarily due to the dynamic adaptability of JPEG2000 paired with high-resolution imaging. Here’s why: JPEG2000 is a frame-by-frame, or intra-frame, compression technology that applies a compression algorithm to each frame captured by a camera. The resulting video is a series of individually compressed frames that do not require information from other frames. Therefore, each frame is accessible independently, enabling quick access to recorded video. A unique feature available with the JPEG2000 standard is “tiling.” With JPEG2000 tiling, the image is split into rectangular regions in varying sizes, which are transformed and encoded separately. Dividing an image into tiles in this way is advantageous because less processing power is required to decode only the necessary tiles.

HDSM™ technology leveraged the granularity of the JPEG2000 standard so that the video, in various resolutions, could be stored, accessed and transmitted within specific portions and layers of the image.


whitepaper hdsm2 2 h2

Transition to H.264

As the H.264 compression standard became more widely adopted within video surveillance system components, Avigilon developed its next-generation version of HDSM technology, HDSM 2.0, to be compatible with H.264 compression. HDSM™ 2.0 technology embodies features similar to its original version but marries the advantages of the lower bandwidth of compressed H.264 video with the ability to split images into tiles.

Although H.264 compression is a common standard that produces substantially lower average bitrate streams than JPEG2000, the standard presented technical challenges to implementing HDSM technology at the same level of granularity.


whitepaper hdsm2 3 scene

As a temporal compression standard, H.264 inherently attempts to store only incremental changes between frames and whole frames at periodic intervals. The result is a stream of video that is compressed over multiple frames rather than a series of individual frames, as in JPEG2000.

HDSM 2.0 technology creates a similar tiling feature with H.264 compressed images as JPEG2000, a technological breakthrough for Avigilon. The tiling flexibility for image storage, access and transmission, coupled with the bitrate reduction of H.264, provides unique and enhanced network performance over systems solely utilizing H.264 compression. This enhanced performance can be particularly beneficial when scaling to higher resolution cameras (e.g. 5 MP+) and higher overall camera counts.


whitepaper hdsm2 4 monitor

HDSM Technology Versus Transcoding

Transcoding is not an element of HDSM™ technology but it is a popular conversion method throughout the video surveillance industry and beyond. Transcoding is usually applied in cases where a target device does not support the format or has limited storage capacity. Transcoding can also be used to convert incompatible or obsolete data to a modern format with better support. For example, in the video surveillance industry transcoding is commonly used between the video management server and an HTML and/or mobile device client session. Some argue that what most video surveillance technologies use is actually transrating, which is a process similar to transcoding in which files are coded to a lower bitrate without changing video formats. This provides the ability to fit given media into smaller storage space over a lower bandwidth connection.

However, there are limitations to using transcoding technology

  1. Transcoding is a processor intensive service. This is evident when users attempt to view video that has been transcoded or transrated, remotely or on their mobile device. The resulting wait times due to buffering or the need to PAUSE in order to reveal full resolution, does not translate into a positive user experience. HDSM technology avoids this challenge. 
  2. Sharing central processing unit (CPU) resources with other software services can inevitably lead to performance limitations based on resource availability. Because HDSM technology is at the core of Avigilon Control Center (ACC) software, using ACC software does not monopolize resources.
  3. The use of dedicated hardware required for transcoding dramatically improves performance, but can be difficult and expensive to scale to medium and large camera deployments. For example, each transcoding hardware device may only support one to four streams and only one session request at a time. HDSM technology does not require dedicated hardware for operation which enables cost effective and easier scaling to the larger deployment of higher resolution cameras. 

In the end, transcoding is computationally expensive and can limit the scale and performance of the video management system.


whitepaper hdsm2 5 arrow

How HDSM™ technology benefits the rest of your system

HDSM™ technology effectively increases the efficiency of video stream management across a network without increasing network infrastructure.

For example, HDSM 2.0 does not require any additional processing power from your network hardware. In fact, the processing power required for an H.264 camera stream with HDSM 2.0 has been reduced from previous versions. Here’s how:

  1. Decoding on the client can be conducted in parallel on multiple CPU cores, enabling lower clock rate, which allows multi-core machines to be used more effectively for the ACC software client. 
  2. In most cases, the client will never need to decode the entire field of view at full resolution. 

Consequently, standard commercial off-the-shelf and existing Avigilon hardware running ACC software that's older than ACC 5.2 can leverage HDSM 2.0 functionality with a software upgrade.


whitepaper hdsm2 6 scene

Video latency

HDSM 2.0 technology does not monopolize resources in a way that would increase video latency or negatively decrease image quality, which provides users with the flexibility to safely increase camera resolution and total camera count without jeopardizing video quality.


Conclusion

For system integrators and end users planning video surveillance system expansion, the Avigilon Control Center software with HDSM™ technology is a solution that can provide both increased performance and flexibility. With HDSM 2.0, Avigilon has paired H.264 compression with intelligent bandwidth management technology to create an effective solution for enabling broad system scalability in both camera count and resolution. All of this is achieved without adding hardware with increased processing power, and without increasing video latency or decreasing image quality. As a result, users can safely leverage HDSM 2.0 technology with current hardware investments to achieve reduced bandwidth consumption while maintaining maximum image detail.

Read Part 1 - High Definition Stream Management



Glossary

ACC Version Last version of ACC tested with camera. This also implies support for later versions of ACC unless specifically listed otherwise.
Audio Input Receive audio feed from camera.
Audio Output Send audio to speaker attached to camera.
Autodiscovery Automatic discovery of camera IP address when connected within a LAN environment.
Compression Type Describes the encoding types supported for the camera.
Connection Type Describes the type of Device Driver used. Native refers to the Manufacturer's specific device driver.
Dewarping In-Client dewarping of fisheye or panoramic cameras.
Digital Input Receive Digital or Relay inputs from camera.
Digital output Trigger digital or relay outputs physically connected to a camera.
Motion Quick display of whether Motion Recording is available on for the camera.
Motion Configuration Configuration of motion detection within the ACC Client.
Motion Recording Support for motion-based recording.
PTZ Quick display of whether PTZ functionality is available for camera.
PTZ Control Basic PTZ Movement.
PTZ Patterns/Tours Ability to create and trigger either PTZ Patterns, or PTZ Tours, depending on camera support.
PTZ Presets Create and trigger PTZ Preset positions.
Unit Type Type of camera.
Verified By Organization which tested camera and reported capabilities.
Verified Firmware Specific firmware version tested.
Manufacturer Blah
Model DS-2DE2103
Connection Type ONVIF
Unit Type IP PTZ camera
Compression Types H.264

  • ACC Version
  • Model DS-2DE2103
  • Connection Type ONVIF
  • Manufacturer Blah
  • Manufacturer Blah
  • Manufacturer Blah
  • Manufacturer Blah
  • Manufacturer Blah
  • Manufacturer Blah
  • Manufacturer Blah
  • Manufacturer Blah
  • Manufacturer Blah

Verified by:

Vendor
Download Test Report